Home News Mike Hosts Noise Abatement Awards

Mike Hosts Noise Abatement Awards


Mike Weatherley with Matthew Easteal and Tony Baker from the Planning & Public Protection Team at Brighton & Hove City Council receiving the John Connell Innovation Award 2012.

Mike Weatherley, Conservative Member of Parliament for Hove and Portslade, has hosted the 12th annual Noise Abatement Society John Connell Awards in Parliament.

The Noise Abatement Society’s 2012 John Connell Awards recognise local authorities, organisations and individuals that have been judged to have been outstanding in their efforts to reduce the impact of noise nuisances. They also highlight those who have sought to pioneer practical and innovative solutions to noise pollution.

The Noise Abatement Society was established in 1959 by John Connell OBE, who successfully lobbied the Noise Abatement Act through Parliament in 1960 which established noise as a statutory nuisance for the first time in the UK. The main objective of the Society is to raise awareness of, and find solutions to, noise pollution which profoundly affects public health, productivity and quality of life.

Commenting, Mike said: “I am absolutely delighted to be part of the Noise Abatement Society Awards again. Many people will be unaware that the Noise Abatement Society works incredibly hard and that their influence has had a considerable positive impact on the lives of people around the country.”