Home Uncategorized Conservatives select winning Council leadership team

Conservatives select winning Council leadership team

Cllr. Geoffrey Theobald OBE

Cllr. Geoffrey Theobald was last night re-elected unopposed again as Conservative Group Leader for the forthcoming municipal year at the Groups AGM.

However, there will be a change in the leadership team as the well-respected Ward Councillor for Woodingdean Dee Simson becomes one of the Groups two Deputy Leaders, replacing Cllr. Denise Cobb who is stepping down to become Mayor of Brighton & Hove in May. The other Deputy Leader position remains unchanged with Wish Ward Councillor Garry Peltzer Dunn continuing in the role. Like Cllr. Theobald, both Cllr. Simson and Peltzer Dunn were elected unopposed. Cllr. Simson will also take on the role of Group Whip.

The Conservative Group is the Official Opposition on Brighton & Hove City Council, holding 18 out of the 54 seats. Cllr. Theobald became Group Leader following the local elections in May 2011.

Cllr. Theobald said: I am delighted that my colleagues have given me the honour of leading the Conservative Group for another year and I would like to thank them for their support. I have an excellent and united team behind me and we are confident about what the future holds.

Cllr. Simson added: It is great to be back as one of the Groups Deputy Leaders and I would like to thank my colleagues for all the support they have given me. I am now looking forward to getting stuck into the hard work that lies ahead.

Cllr. Peltzer Dunn added: I have thoroughly enjoyed being the Groups Deputy Leader for the past two years and so Im delighted to be able to continue in the role. We are halfway through the current electoral cycle and the countdown to 2015 begins now!

Notes for editors:

Cllr. Theobald can be contacted on 07753636203; Cllr. Peltzer Dunn can be contacted on 07747763011; Cllr. Simson can be contacted on 07795336425